## Meeting Minutes, Faculty Senate, full meeting, September 24, 2024

## In attendance:

Jeffrey Alston (S), Shyam Aravamudhan (A), Ayanna Armstrong (S), Jennifer Beasley (S), Stephen Bollinger (S), Trevor Brothers (S), Dr. Dewayne Brown (S), Subrata Chakrabarty (A), Arvind Chandrasekaran (S), Eunho Cho (S), Daphne Cooper, Robert L Ferguson (S), Yvonne R Ford (S), Galen Foresman (S), Valerie Giddings, Etta Gravely (A), Corey Graves (S), Scott H. Harrison (S), AKM Kamrul Islam (A), Floyd James, Yuhan Jiang (S), Stephanie Kelly (S), Joy Kennedy (S), Sajad Khorsandroo (S), Sajad Khorsandroo (S), Luba Kurkalova (S), Roland Leak (S), Blessing Masasi (A), Adam McClain (S), Ahmed C. Megri (S), Ademe Mekonnen (S), Hyosoo Moon (A), Letycia Nuñez-Argote (S), Porche' Okafor, Sharon Parker, Tommy Patterson, Xiuli (Shelly) Qu (A), Bill Randle (S), Zaira Estrada Reyes (S), Derrick Robinson (A), George S. Robinson, Tiffany Russell, Mashooq Salehin (S), Mashooq Salehin (S), David Schall (S), Amy Schwartzott (S), Chantel Simpson (S), Tonya Smith-Jackson, Natasha Spellman (A), Porche Spence, Magdalene Tukov-Yual (A), Christina Tupper (S), John Paul Ward (S), Jeff Wolfgang (S), Alexander Yin, Maria Zhang (A)

(S): Senator (A): Alternate

Call to order was done by Dr. Scott Harrison at 3:00 pm. Roll call was led by Dr. Fuller. There was a link to attendance sent out and a QR Code. The agenda was presented. Dr. Gravely motioned and Stephen Bollinger seconded for the agenda to be approved. The motion passed unanimously. Dr. McCoy provided updates on the calendar and final exam schedule. The minutes were then reviewed. Dr. Gravely motioned and Dr. Wolfgang seconded for the minutes to be approved. Committees were discussed and faculty were encouraged to indicate their desired membership on committees if they had not done so already. Substantial concerns were raised about communications and procedures on campus surrounding what should be expected for university-level review and approval of curricula – i.e., inclusive and representative engagement of all faculty is not happening with the current ad hoc university committee ("UAPCC"). Dr. Randle commented on the importance of the Faculty Handbook and Constitution Committees.

Dr. Valerie Giddings, Senior Provost of Academic Affairs and Dr. Alexander Yin, Vice chancellor for the Office of Strategic Planning and Institutional Effectiveness (OSPIE) presented on an initiative to transition to interfolio for promotion and tenure processes, faculty review, and faculty activity reporting. They indicated a goal to complete the general transition by January 2025 and have everything fully finished by June 2025. This includes addressing faculty workload. Concerns were raised by several faculty about the frequency of migrations from one technical system to another, and whether this system would work with other contexts including faculty evaluations.

The Provost, Dr. Smith-Jackson, presented policy updates, indicating that draft policies on Teaching Effectiveness and Post Tenure Review would be soon posted, and that an Academic Program Review policy draft was underway. Teaching Effectiveness would encompass peer-assessment, self-assessment, student feedback, and formative assessment. More than several faculty spoke on challenges with classroom technologies (classroom IT). The Provost indicated that listening sessions were underway regarding classroom IT. Comments about building heat were also raised.

The meeting concluded with a motion to adjourn by Dr. Gravely that was seconded by Dr. Nuñez-Argote. The motion passed unanimously.